Texas NF Logo
Donate Now

Texas Neurofibromatosis Foundation - 2


Neurofibromatosis is the most common neurological disorder caused by a single gene, and it affects one out of every 3,000 people worldwide. NF is more prevalent than Cystic Fibrosis and Muscular Dystrophy combined. Currently there is no cure, no long-term treatments or any prevention for NF.

NF involves the uncontrolled growth of tumors along the nerves anywhere in the body, internal and external, and at any time throughout an individual’s life. It is linked to learning disabilities, high blood pressure and epilepsy, and it can affect the development of the brain, cardiovascular system, bones and skin. NF can result in terrible disfigurement, deformity, deafness, blindness, brain tumors, cancer and even death.

The Texas Neurofibromatosis Foundation®  a nonprofit organization, was formed in 1980 to battle neurofibromatosis and to serve the increasing number of men, women and children in Texas suffering with this disorder.

Our mission is to meet the needs of people challenged with Neurofibromatosis by providing care, comfort, support, information, education, funding and other resources for its treatment, prevention and cure.  

There are many ways you can help!

For the most up-to-date NF information, read our latest Newsletter.


NF Family Camp

Camp is a great time for patients and their families to learn, laugh and make meaningful relationships.....  


North Texas Giving Day

Support the Texas NF Foundation and Get up and Give on Sept. 17 from 6 a.m.-Midnight!  


NF Patient Dedicates Eagle Scout Project to Others with NF

15-year-old Carson Peters, who has NF-1, spearheaded an Eagle Scout Project this spring that donated 200 "fun bags" for kids at NF clinics. The project involved 85.25 volunteer hours, from planning to collecting donations to assembling the fun bags. Thanks to Carson and his team of Scouts, NF patients will be greeted by not just doctors and nurses but crayons, activity books, and encouraging notes from an empathetic fellow patient!